News Report

06/12/2010 : Jason Plato Wins National Driver of the Year Award

Silverline Chevrolet BTCC Champion Jason Plato has been named National Driver of the Year at the AUTOSPORT Awards in London.

Plato, who won his second British Touring Car Championship title this year, beat the likes of his season-long rivals Matt Neal and Gordon Shedden and British Formula 3 champion Jean-Eric Vergne to win the award.

"It's a very tough championship to win," said Plato, who received the Paul Warwick Trophy from three-time World Touring Car champion Andy Priaulx.

"But the difference is being with a great team in RML again. They say you're only as good as the car you drive, and I've had a great one in the [Chevrolet] Cruze."

Plato, 43, took his second BTCC title with seven race wins on what was the return of Chevrolet as a works entrant in the series.

Despite he and the team having to develop a new car - the Cruze - he grabbed the championship lead at the mid-point of the season from his long-time rival Neal.

Heading into the final race at Brands Hatch with Neal, Shedden and Tom Onslow-Cole all capable of beating him to the crown, Plato superbly took a double win while carrying maximum success ballast to claim his first title since 2001.

Latest Racing Silverline News

Silverline Tools
Play the Silverline Race Challenge

All rights reserved. No part may be reproduced in any form or stored in a data retrieval system without the prior written consent of the copyright holder. The inclusion of any part in other websites is strictly prohibited.

Bookmark and Share